Forums - Replace leather chest piece with (non-functioning) backpack? : General Discussions

It is currently 26 Apr 2018, 11:09 (All times are UTC )




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Message

 Profile  
Offline

Joined: 13 Aug 2016, 22:04
Posts: 3
PostPosted: 13 Aug 2016, 22:46 
Greetings peoples.

I was wondering if there's any way to replace the normal leather chest piece with a backpack? It doesn't need to function, just make the leather chest piece look like a backpack?

I am aware that there ARE mods out there that will add actual WORKING backpacks. One of the servers I'm playing on is strictly vanilla but I like the idea of having it look like people are wearing backpacks...

I've been trying to figure out how to do this by having a look at various backpack mods and copious amounts of the Google but I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around it... :-/

Not sure if someone maybe made something like this already?

I've tried searching for something like this but didn't really find anything so I'm guessing that it's either not possible (unlikely considering the backpack mods out there) or it's just something that's not been done because there's mods that add working backpacks to the game...

EDIT : Forgot to add that this is for Minecraft 1.10.2


Advertisement
Login to not show this ad

User avatar
 Profile  
Offline
BDcraft Lead Moderator

Joined: 16 Apr 2012, 00:46
Posts: 4758
Location: Hereford, England
PostPosted: 13 Aug 2016, 23:13 
*moved to General Discussions*

Doesn't really have anything to do with mods so I moved the thread.

You just need to edit one of the leather armour layers and add to or replace the chest section.

It can't be 3D though. Just a 2D representation.

There are a few mod patches that have backpack items that might work... Forestry, Thermal Expansion/Foundation... Probably others ;)

BDcraft Moderator



 Profile  
Offline

Joined: 13 Aug 2016, 22:04
Posts: 3
PostPosted: 14 Aug 2016, 10:32 
See that's what's confusing me...

How are mods adding a wearable 3D item yet somehow it can't be made to replace a vanilla item?

Oh well... :(


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


User avatar
 Profile  
Offline
BDcraft Lead Moderator

Joined: 16 Apr 2012, 00:46
Posts: 4758
Location: Hereford, England
PostPosted: 14 Aug 2016, 10:58 
Mods can add a 3D backpack, because they're modifications of the game.

They can basically do whatever they want as they are adding extra code to replace and/or add items and models. I'm not sure why that confuses you.

BDcraft Moderator



 Profile  
Offline

Joined: 13 Aug 2016, 22:04
Posts: 3
PostPosted: 14 Aug 2016, 11:13 
I understand the modding bit, what I'm unclear about is WHY I cannot simply replace the standard leather armour texture with (for instance) the backpack textures/model for the mod that I'm running in the picture...

In other words, a CLIENT SIDE mod that replaces the default look of the leather armour without adding in an new item.

Surely I should be able to edit the normal leather armour properties/textures so that it mimicks the look of the backpack without actually doing anything in terms of storing items etc?

I've messed around with textures before but the armour stuff (flat/unwrapped textures) just never made sense to me...

Apologies if this makes no sense, just thought I'd try something that I thought would be fairly simple.


User avatar
 Profile  
Offline
BDcraft Lead Moderator

Joined: 16 Apr 2012, 00:46
Posts: 4758
Location: Hereford, England
PostPosted: 14 Aug 2016, 11:22 
Changing a texture in a resourcepack is not a client side mod. Resourcepacks abide by the rules that Minecraft itself sets out. It only extends to mods when you texture mods directly and then the resourcepack abides to the rules set out by that specific mod when working on its specific textures.

Currently Minecraft has no way to do 3D textures for armour (if it did you could achieve what you wanted).

If you really want to change it client side only you'd need to make an actual mod that does so which may mean you can't connect to servers that don't allow unrecognised mods.

You might be able to do it in a Lite Loader mod as it loads in a different way and a server might not be looking for it, but I'm not sure, you'd have to check.

Suffice it to say there's currently no way to do it just with a resourcepack and editing textures/models.

BDcraft Moderator


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: