Forums - Help for when the 3d swords come out. : Help Center

It is currently 23 Sep 2017, 07:33 (All times are UTC )




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
Message
User avatar
 Profile  
Offline

Joined: 09 Aug 2014, 19:33
Posts: 4
PostPosted: 03 Feb 2015, 17:17 
So on twitter sphax has been posting photos of 3d swords and blocks and i'm wondering something.

So i use bdcraft 128x (my computer cant run anything bigger than that) and it's great because the blocks look really good and only slightly pixelated up close. But whenever I use bdcraft I have 128x for the blocks, then 512x items. I do that because 512x items look amazing and they don't impact my performance (because they aren't making up the world :P). When I have 128x items it looks weird to me as it isn't completely rough like the default pack but then not smooth like 512x.

So the purpose of this topic is that, when the new 3d swords come out, how would I go about making my 128x pack have 512x sword models? With basic textures I just replace the 128x ones with 512x ones, but where would I have to look for the models?

Thanks for the help!


Advertisement
Login to not show this ad

User avatar
 Profile  
Offline
Former Staff

Joined: 25 Apr 2012, 19:46
Posts: 1132
PostPosted: 03 Feb 2015, 21:01 
The resolution has no bearing on how the models work. They will work for all resolutions, regardless if you're mixing 128x and 512x.


User avatar
 Profile  
Offline

Joined: 09 Aug 2014, 19:33
Posts: 4
PostPosted: 03 Feb 2015, 21:07 
I was wondering about where the model files would be located for me to mix them. Since I was going to take the 512x models to replace the 128x ones. Like in the resourcepack normal sword textures are in the items section, but where are the sword models?


User avatar
 Profile  
Offline
Former Staff

Joined: 25 Apr 2012, 19:46
Posts: 1132
PostPosted: 03 Feb 2015, 21:28 
Models are not organized by resolution. As I said, models are not dependent on the textures. Swapping the textures out like you've been doing, will work with the models.


User avatar
 Profile  
Offline
BDcraft Lead Moderator

Joined: 16 Apr 2012, 00:46
Posts: 4614
Location: Hereford, England
PostPosted: 03 Feb 2015, 22:47 
Basically Sphax just uses models to manipulate the textures from the main pack. You can check it yourself by downloading the new 3D models addons from the PureBDcraft for Minecraft downloads page.

BDcraft Moderator


User avatar
 Profile  
Offline

Joined: 09 Aug 2014, 19:33
Posts: 4
PostPosted: 04 Feb 2015, 01:05 
Ok so there isn't a separate model for each resolution? Didn't know that. Thanks for the help!


User avatar
 Profile  
Offline
BDcraft Lead Moderator

Joined: 16 Apr 2012, 00:46
Posts: 4614
Location: Hereford, England
PostPosted: 04 Feb 2015, 16:49 
After closer inspection (as it wasn't instantly apparent to me as I generally haven't been dabbling in MC1.8 yet) Sphax has actually bundled the model textures in to each individual resolution for the main resourcepack.

You'll find bdc_sword_diamond.png, bdc_sword_gold.png, bdc_sword_iron.png and bdc_sword1.png in the textures/items folder. These are only used in conjunction with the 3D items addon.

Sorry for the confusion. I doubt this effects you badly though as I imagine you'd have just moved the entire items folder regardless ;)

BDcraft Moderator


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: