Page 1 of 1

Issue with a texture. Noob here needing help :)

Posted: 23 Jul 2016, 00:46
by bolts4life
Hi I am new with texturing and I have been building a modpack and have been going around to get Sphax textures for the mods. One mod I got textures for was Biomes O' Plenty but there were textures for the Jars that were not Sphaxed. I went through and got some textures for the jar and put them together.

When I started up Minecraft to test I got this
Image

This is what the texture looks like default
Image

Here are the default textures I was working with:

Default Textures
Show
Image
jar_bamboo
Image
jar_bamboo_grass_bottom
Image
jar_bamboo_grass_side
Image
jar_bamboo_grass_top
Image
jar_bottom
Image
jar_bottom_side
Image
jar_main_bottom
Image
jar_main_side
Image
jar_main_top
Image
jar_opening_side
Image
jar_opening_top
Image
jar_stopper_side
Image
jar_stopper_top


And the sphax textures

Sphax Textures
Show
http://i.imgur.com/DZBOT3X.pngImage
jar_bamboo
Image
jar_bamboo_grass_bottom
Image
jar_bamboo_grass_side
Image
jar_bamboo_grass_top
Image
jar_bottom
Image
jar_bottom_side
Image
jar_main_bottom
Image
jar_main_side
Image
jar_main_top
Image
jar_opening_side
Image
jar_opening_top
Image
jar_stopper_side
Image
jar_stopper_top


Like I said before I am a noob when it comes to texturing. So any help will be appreciated :D
Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post!

-Bolts

Re: Issue with a texture. Noob here needing help :)

Posted: 23 Jul 2016, 02:19
by MauveCloud
Which version of Minecraft are you making these textures for? If this is for 1.8 or newer, you might need to do something with the blockstate jsons as well to get it to look right.

Re: Issue with a texture. Noob here needing help :)

Posted: 23 Jul 2016, 02:35
by bolts4life
Yep I am using 1.10.2. So I need to go into the JSON file to get it the way I want?

I just checked the blockstates and there was nothing about the Jar. when i went to models there was something but it was for the item Jar not the block.

Update #3 I have figured it out. The JSON file was called terrarium instead of jar ... lol. Thanks for the help I will try this

Re: Issue with a texture. Noob here needing help :)

Posted: 23 Jul 2016, 03:11
by MauveCloud
I don't really understand the blockstate jsons, I just knew they existed and could be affecting your problem. Also, I'm currently taking a break from playing Minecraft, but I plan to resume in September after a few upgrades to my computer, and I think I'll want Biomes O' Plenty in my mod list. If you get this working, please post it to the Biomes O Plenty patch thread, so that it can be included in the main patch for the mod, thanks.

Re: Issue with a texture. Noob here needing help :)

Posted: 23 Jul 2016, 03:15
by bolts4life
Yep sure thing I will do that, even if I don't get the Jars working I have redone the files to adhere to 1.10.2 for all the mods in the modpack. Trying to have the majority of them sphaxed. I just didn't know if I could take an existing patch like biomes o plenty, and edit it. I wanted to distribute the sphax resource pack that has all the mods textures with my modpack so others can play with textures. But I am not sure if that is allowed.

Re: Issue with a texture. Noob here needing help :)

Posted: 23 Jul 2016, 12:36
by HanFox
This is where patching may get difficult if you don't have a modelling program like Cubik as it's very hard to just adjust things using the json files (this isn't an ad for it, just stating a fact -- there are some fully free modelling programs on MCF you could try instead).

This is how models work in Minecraft: http://minecraft.gamepedia.com/Model

As for editing and redistribution of mod patches: that is allowed, but you should post the updated patches in their respective threads here.

As for redistributing a full pack with the main PureBDcraft files within: you cannot do that as that breaches the Terms of Use.

Re: Issue with a texture. Noob here needing help :)

Posted: 23 Jul 2016, 17:53
by bolts4life
Ok I will check out the modeling program. And when i get a mod patched to 1.10.2 then I will post in on their forum threads. I would be able to get all the mods patches I create together and create a thread here for my modpack so people can come here and dl then right? I just can't have the original Sphax Vanilla textures in the file.

Re: Issue with a texture. Noob here needing help :)

Posted: 23 Jul 2016, 17:55
by HanFox
You can post a modpack release thread on this forum, yes. As long as you following the posting Rules.